Players Need a Button to 'Join Campaign' and DM's need 'Invite Players via URL'

ElMuggs
ElMuggs

Hi, I'm new to Obsidian Portal, I checked to see if this has been asked before but it doesn't seem to be a recent topic?

When my players visit my new Obsidian Portal > https://thedomainofdreadcouncilmeeting.obsidianportal.com/

The only option is to 'Become a Fan' - implying theres' no way for them to join the campaign  - which is super weird?

Right now I've only managed to get one player who's been able to figure out that they have to sign up separately, go back to the campaign and 'follow it' - then let me know so that I have to manually find their account and send them a invite, they accept and only THEN they can take part... 

It seems a obvious fix to have the option to show a 'Join Campaign' button next to the 'Fan' button to allow players to send a request to the Campaign owner to approve their membership. 

Platforms like Roll20 and DnDBeyond  also allow DM's to generate a link that will enable players to jump straight into the game without needing to know email addresses or usernames. 

This is a really important feature that is missing for Campaign owners - so could we also get the option to generate a unique URL to share with their players which will automatically allow them to join the campaign on signing up - which is great both for the Campaign owners and Obsidan Portal as a whole.

By doing this it becomes possible for people to easily bring a entire group of players into the campaign at once - which is key to getting the campaign off the ground.. and making it worth paying for the 'subscription'.

If however there's some 'secret option' to fix this problem please let me know.

DM of The Domains of Dread Council Meeting (...a Comedic Misadventure though the mists of a re-imagined Ravenloft! ) - COTM Feb 2023! 

Comments

• Vanillabean
    Vanillabean

Hi @ElMuggs!