4E question

spidieman
spidieman
edited August 2008 in General Discussion

Comments

• spidieman
    spidieman
    not sure if there is enough population here to have a role playing forum for chit chatting and what not.

however i have a question to other 4E dm's out there

is it fair to pit my players against a monster that is in fact a full fledged character? It just seems the 'monster' i built (being the BBEG) could TPK.
  • RobJustice
    RobJustice
    That depends on a lot of factors.... I would say it would be fair if you were sensible about it. Clearly if you pit a Level 20 Wizard vs a group of 2nd Level PCs... its bad news time.
  • FemmeLegion
    FemmeLegion
    I've no 4E experience to lend here, but I have some Amtgard experience:

The Monster Manual for Amtgard lists the average Quester:Monster ratio for various beasties - how many regular players it should take to defeat a monster of the same level. But there's one thing that the MM can never EVER account for: Amtgard is live-action combat and so personal skill levels often count for more than character levels.

It's the same here. Heck, lots of other things will come into play. Terrain can give advantage to one side or the other, for example. But one really big advantage you have by creating the BBEG character is that you should be intimately familiar with what it can do, and in what circumstances it'd be most advantageous to do them. That's the "personal skill level" in D&D, and it can mean the difference between fighting smart and leaving yourself open. My friend Dennis could be a terrifying GM when running published modules in 3.5, because he'd look at the stated tactics of the BBEG, look at what else it can do, and throw out the published tactics because he had a better idea.