runestone

drubixcube
drubixcube
edited September 2009 in Player Lounge

Comments

• drubixcube
    drubixcube
    hey guys - just signed up yesterday and started loading content for my new game using the conan rules by mongoose (although, as you will see NOT set in Howard's world). check it out @ http://www.obsidianportal.com/campaign/runestone

as a GM who puts a lot of time and effort into world building, i think this site is amazingly helpful. i've already gotten a huge response from my players. gimme some feedback. oh, and if you like the map, i'm happy to lend out services (i worked as a concept artist for a while and have some skill in digital painting). anything to help out the pen-and-paper community.

anyway, hello!
  • Figment
    Figment
    Looks good so far.

What drew you to use the Conan RPG for your own campaign world?
  • drubixcube
    drubixcube
    thanks, figmet. in answer to "why conan," i had looked at rolemaster, DnD3.5 and a few others. Ultimately, it came down to a few things:

1. what are my players comfortable with? they know 3.5e and feel comfortable making characters in it.
    2. whats going to be simple and portable for me? what do i feel most comfortable authoring new rules in?
    3. which system will provide rough, gritty rules that will scare my players into using combat as a last option?

in the end, me and the players know 3.5e and, with all the optional rules available (Armor DR, Minimum damage, daelth save @ any 20HP hit, armor and weapon degrade and breakage, parry / dodge bonuses), a few simple house rules (mostly re: magic and the stone - a power point (PP) system similar to DnD Psionics systems makes MUCH more sense in this world than the standard 3.5e system), and the gritty feel of conan just made it a good match.

any suggestions?
  • Figment
    Figment
    I really like your content, but you did ask for suggestions. I hope I didn't go overboard for you: