HTML Table Formatting

ladycallistadaring
ladycallistadaring

So I'm brand new to formatting in all of its forms, but I've been doing ok so far.  I'm trying to include a table in one of my wiki pages. So far, I've figured out how to get the background color to match the overall background I put into the CSS ... but it's only affecting every other row, my font color has changed back to black, and there's a big white border around it..... erg.  I'm assuming I need to ... add the background-color bits to some other section in my formatting, but I can't get any of my guesses to work.  I'd also like the font to be white again, and to get rid of the border.  Any suggestions?

The page in question:   https://thewitheredrose.obsidianportal.com/wikis/drhadhakti

The table html I have at the moment:

<table>

<table style="background-color:rgba(8, 53, 68, 0.9)">

<tbody>

<tr>

<th>1d10</th>

<th style="text-align:left;">Trait</th>

</tr>

<tr>

<td>1</td>

<td>You have an obsessive desire for a particular food or drink which your bonded spirit has consumed but you do not particularly enjoy.</td>

</tr>

<tr>

<td>2</td>

<td>You gesture wildly when speaking to your bonded spirit, but are generally a very restrained individual otherwise. </td>

</tr>

<tr>

<td>3</td>

<td>You sometimes say what your bonded spirit is thinking instead of expressing your own opinions, and later have to explain your contradictory words.</td>

</tr>

<tr>

<td>4</td>

<td>You occasionally speak in a language you don't understand, especially during times of high emotion or stress.</td>

</tr>

<tr>

<td>5</td>

<td>You always respond to your bonded-spirit out loud, and aren't aware that other people can't hear the spirit's side of the conversation.</td>

</tr>

<tr>

<td>6</td>

<td>You sometimes laugh at inappropriate times, and later can't explain why.</td>

</tr>

<tr>

<td>7</td>