Obsidian Portal check-in 2018: Has the site improved?

brookselliotbe303

I'm preparing to share a campaign I've started with a blog audience, and would like to use a wiki-style platform to share game information. I've been using Obsidian Portal on and off for about five years now, and every time I've contemplated paying for an Ascendant membership I've been turned off by complaints and horror stories that have mostly occurred after the site went to new ownership.

The question is, then, have things been getting better? And if not, are there new alternatives (other than hosting my own wiki, which may very well happen but is unlikely at this juncture)? My intent is to provide a platform to share campaign information widely; if I was just running this game for myself and my group I'd use Google Docs.

Comments

• Leonidas300
    Leonidas300

I'll give you my honest opinion, YES, things have gotten better. My history with the Obsidian Portal is or was well documented on these forums at one time. Pre-reforge, I loved the portal, it hands down had the best community and did many things well. I was excited and backed the Reforge and well, you know how that turned out. 

I left the portal in anger and disgust and honestly looked hard for a replacement venue, nothing I really looked at really lived up to the portal. I tried on and off to come back but every time I really considered putting work into it, I just could not.

So, i don't know about 2 years ago?? (mabye less) I had occasion to happen on an online Obsidian Portal conversation where I heard Kallak had taken the reigns. I reached out to some of the old longtime members I knew and trusted and they told me things had stabalized and improved and honestly, they were right on.