Veteran to role playing, New to playing via online

Coffeejinx
edited April 2018 in Player Lounge

I've been running and playing role playing games for over 20 years but in person how do I do it online I try setting up a campaign but I don't understand do people see each other via video and they watch each other roll dice like you kind of would in person how did we keep on the same page with rulings Etc ,etc does it kind of like work like they connect through Skype I don't understand

Post edited by Coffeejinx on

Comments

• ragnarhawk

Hi Coffeejinx,

I have been running a campaign on Roll20 for a bit over a year now.  We use Google Chat calls for voice (although Roll20 chat support is improving).  Roll20 has its own dice rolling mechanisms.  You can either roll dice in the chat (result shows up to either all players or to the GM depending on commands) or use a virtual dice roller to roll dice "on the table".  Not sure what your question is regarding rulings - as DM I make decisions and tell the players just like I would in person.  Sometimes someone (me or one of the players) will document something in the Roll20 chat to make sure that we remember it.

I hope that this helps.  I enjoy playing online, as it allows me to play with friends who have moved across the country.

• cgregory
    cgregory

Just to add, most games here in obsidian portal are done in person. Many of us use it for our GM/world notes and for our player’s notes. Others us it for session summaries written by the GM or sometimes by the players.

They are among us!

XCom: Defiance - Campaign of the Month November 2016

• Bortas
    Bortas

What cgregory said. I began using OP just to keep NPCs straight and separate, since I tended to forget who knew what when I started having 20+ regular NPCs they would talk to.