dungeon room ideas

cyberoplasma2003

Hello all,

I am new to all of this and I was wondering if anyone has any ideas on unique rooms to a massive dungeon it could be fighting or non 

Note it is for a 3.5 campaign based on the d20 besm handbook 

Comments

• twiggyleaf
    twiggyleaf

I'll suggest magical antigravity room.  Everything the players need is on the ceiling, which will become the floor when the magic device (well hidden) is switched.

"I met a traveller from an antique land....."

CotM May 2016: Mysteria: set in Wolfgang Baur’s MIDGARD.

Previous CotM Aug 2012: Shimring: High Level Multiplanar Campaign

Inner Council Member

• cgregory
    cgregory

Minesweeper room. Each step they take they are telepathically told a number. That number corresponds to how many of the surrounding steps have magical traps. Figure out the safe path.

They are among us!

XCom: Defiance - Campaign of the Month November 2016

• Jim_Mount
    Jim_Mount

My players love / hate me because nearly every encounter has elevation elements, terrain, and cover. I try to think of Bethesda "dungeons" like in Elder Scrolls or Fallout -- only rarely is a room just a flat plane. There are always ledges, overhead walkways and the like. Always have something for cover, pillars, statues, furnishings... the key is to make encounter areas interesting and to reward stealthy scouting so PCs can assume agency in planning their attack ahead of time, or be forced to take full advantage of their resources if they are surprised.

I would do an image search for video game encounter rooms and design rooms from any you find interesting.

• Johnprime
    Johnprime

Friend of mine years ago made the 'living room'. It was a room in a dungeon that looked like a normal living room, like you would have in your house, but with a fantasy theme. Couches, recliners, candle sconces, etc. But once the PCs were in the room, the animated furniture attacked them, hence, the other meaning of the 'living room'!

Johnprime