Cool Tip!

Comments

• Redslash12
    Redslash12
    I was just looking over some character layouts and realized it'd be real easy to steal them. Just open the page source from the view toolbar up top and the whole thing is there in HTML. I'm not endorsing stealing other peoples work, you really should ask first, but if you wanted to see how someone did something it's right there.

Hopefully this doesn't cause any catastrophes, but I think it will help in the long run.
  • harneloot
    harneloot
    Interesting. I looked at the source code for one of the pages that looked really cool, and I can't understand any of it. I am not a programmer nor a web-designer. I have zero knowledge of HTML or Textile. I hope this doesn't mean I'm sh*t out of luck.

Maybe there could be a place for "templates" here on the forums? - interesting page designs, but free of content, and then users like me could simply plug in their own content? I'm not even sure if something like that is doable?

Is there a program where I can design stuff with a GUI and then "convert" it into code to past into a wiki page here on OP?

Thanks anyone who can offer some help/advice!
  • Redslash12
    Redslash12
    you bring up a good point with the templates. If you can just copy and paste it would be cool for someone to just write up a template and you just add in your own information.

Does anyone know how to do variables in HTML? Like at the top of the page have a CharName variable and then anyone who copies the template just has to change a bunch of variables at the top of the page. I'm pretty sure it can be done but I don't know how to or what it's called.
  • stumblewyk
    stumblewyk
    bq. Does anyone know how to do variables in HTML? Like at the top of the page have a CharName variable and then anyone who copies the template just has to change a bunch of variables at the top of the page. I’m pretty sure it can be done but I don’t know how to or what it’s called.