plz help d&d 4e encounter for dragon to advance story

jjhighberger
jjhighberger
edited September 2013 in Campaign Portal Building
I'm new to D&D and currently playing/DMing 4e. I'm looking for encounter ideas that include a dragon to coincide with my lvl 3 party of 4. Trying to stick to a goblin race theme.

Any Hook/flavor text ideas would be greatly appreciated also as the toughest part of DMing is my story telling.

So far they have defeated a lvl 4 named Goblin Underboss to retrieve what they thought was an 'Orb of Farseeing 3' they were sent for by a church, only to find out it was an 'Orb of Seeing' which they will use to open a secret passage to an underground labyrinth, leading to the actual 'Orb of Farseeing3' by defeating a lvl 6 named Bugbear Strangler and competing a puzzle challenge to obtain the orb (success grants access - failure summons skeletons which after defeating skeletons grants access). The church and other local churches feel that in the wrong hands this Orb of Farseeing 3 could wreak havoc in massively destructive ways. I'm thinking i would like to tie the Dragon somehow into this as a mastermind behind the whole operation.

Thanks all for future input as it is greatly appreciated

Comments

• Kallak
    Kallak
    In my mind I guess the idea of a dragon encounter at level 3 boils down into one of two camps.

[1] The encounter is run such that the dragon becomes a series of environmental factors more than an direct opponent. In essence the party is escaping or avoiding it while dealing with secondary effects of its actions. Examples might include:

-A missed tail slap strikes near the group forcing them to dodge [X], with [X] being rockfall from the cavernous ceiling, a large statue or column falling onto its side, or a drop into the abyss as the bridge/ledge/ground is taken out from underneath them.