Help! Im an unexperienced DM and need inspiration

Scortcherman
edited May 2012 in Campaign Portal Building
I understand D&D (i own the 1st edition books and understand the definition of an rpg) but apparently ive been told that im not that good at being a DM, i really want to however, and i would say i have a good imagination! Im really looking for good plot twists, examples of good campaigns, ways to get my PC's to act seriously (because sometimes they do not take things seriously), and how to focus on the story when they craft it themselves. thanks :D

Comments

• rayezilla
    rayezilla
    the best way to make the players serious is to kill one of them. Now, I don't mean box them in a trap and die or something. I mean, put them in a situation where they can be serious and succeed, but joking around and being not serious will kill them. And then don't pull your punches, roll all the dice right in front of them. Try not to party wipe though: Just kill one, preferably the least serious one
  • Savannah
    Savannah
    If you're already having issues with players not liking your DMing, killing one of them will NOT help.

What is it they don't like? There are so many different things a DM does that just knowing "I've been told I"m not that good at being a DM" doesn't tell us what we should advise you on -- it doesn't help to be talking about writing a campaign when your players don't like how vague your descriptions are, for example! If you don't know what they don't like, go ask them.

That being said, by far the best way to improve your DMing is to play a lot of games with different DMs and observe what you do and don't like and how you could change your own style. Have you played much?