Going from Dungeon Master to Writer

Turncoat
Turncoat
edited January 2012 in General Archive
Over the years, my passion for worldbuilding has brought about the creation of a very detailed game world. When talking to people about the setting, I've been told time and time again that I should write a book and make mad stacks. As I developed as a writer, I began writing short stories, and am now in the process of plotting out a novel.

I have often seen people ask about this possibility on the official Wizards forums, and it is usually met with a fairly vitriolic response of "NO YOU CAN'T DO THIS, ENJOY GETTING BEATEN INTO THE GROUND BY THE WIZARDS OF THE COAST LEGAL TEAM!" However, I believe that I have crafted enough of a unique setting, with new races and interesting takes on classic ones, to differentiate from your standard D&D-type world and story.

What I'm curious about is this: Has anyone on this forum made the transition from DM to writer, or know of someone who has. It's something that I would really like to know more about.

Clarification: I'm talking about writing a book, even launching a series, set in the world I've developed.

Comments

• CuRoi
    CuRoi
    If you have a race named "shorties" that are hairy footed foodies that are decent thieves despite a lack of desire for excitement, expect Tolkien's estate to contact you. If you make an octopus headed dude called a "Brain Sucker" expect WoTC legal to contact you. Anyway, it's hard to say what you are looking for here.

If by writer you mean you have a wholly unique fantasy world you are writing a novel about that steers clear of the WOTC property then I'm not sure why a novel would be a problem. If you mean you are writing 4e DnD game material to sell, you will want to find an official publisher to avoid legal woes. The OGL died an edition and a half ago...

I am pursuing writing novels, short stories, and the like - but not RPG material.
  • AnthonyDluzak
    AnthonyDluzak