Using 3rd party art work

mormegil27
mormegil27
edited May 2011 in General Discussion
I noticed that many people have used what I suspect to be 3rd party (often semi-professional) artwork on Obsidian Portal. How free are we to use such artwork? If I find an image on a random artist's website, or on a fantasy art ring, etc, can I just use it, or do I need to cite where it came from (I've noticed most people don't do this), or do we have to obtain specific permission from the artist? Is it assumed that if an artist posts their work in a form that can be downloaded that it is open access?

Thanks.

Comments

• Deadseid
    Deadseid
    I need to preface my statement with the following: I am not a lawyer, and my knowledge of law is limited at best.
    There is this thing in US copyright law called the "Fair Use Act" that allows for the unlicensed use of copyrighted images. This act allows a 3rd party limited use of a copyright holder's work without their permission,consent, or even knowledge. But this is shaky territory. Basically, fair use applies as long as certain conditions are met. These conditions are detailed in full in sections 107 through 118 of the copyright law (title 17, U. S. Code).

This is my interpretation of said code. If you are not reproducing/publishing the work, and you are not making money using the work, it's probably considered fair use. But there a few very important things to consider, first is this statement, taken from Copyright.gov:

"The distinction between fair use and infringement may be unclear and not easily defined. There is no specific number of words, lines, or notes that may safely be taken without permission. Acknowledging the source of the copyrighted material does not substitute for obtaining permission. "