Hello + How do you get more participation from your players?

dagob
dagob
edited March 2011 in Campaign Portal Building
Hello all,

I am a DM for a D&D 4th edition group and I am new to obsidian portal. Reading through some of the campaigns I have seen on this site, I have been impressed with the level of player participation, i.e. writing and updating character logs, bios and 'campfire talk'. I made a wiki for our campaign on wikia.com before I knew this website existed. I put a lot of work into it and was frustrated with the lack of participation from my players.

I created a log with a summary of what happened every session along with a preview of what was going to happen next session, with the hope that my players would go to the site to get a heads up on what might happen, and then read the log so that they may actually remember what they did last session. I also tried giving players who miss a session an EXP reward for coming up with a good story of what their character was doing during the missed session, hoping that that would be another incentive to keep up with what was going on.

I want the campaign to be everyone's story and not just what I want it to be, so I don't want to deliver ultimatums. Do you guys have any tips or suggestions? Also if you are taking the time to respond to this, I would also be interested to know what your opinion is of the D&D 4th ed. character creator on the wizards website.

Thank you,
dagob

Comments

• arsheesh
    arsheesh
    Hello there Dagob, welcome to the Portal!