The WIP thread

gaaran
gaaran
edited December 2010 in General Discussion
So i've been inspired by those of you creating awesome artwork that I thought I'd try my hand at digital painting. It looked like fun. Duskreign was kind enough to let me use one of his awesome line-arts. I figured that enough of us were creating and working on new artwork that I'd give us a thread to critique and share and just generally show off you projects :).

So without further ado, I give you my work in progress: "WIP":http://cdn.obsidianportal.com/assets/31901/painting_WIP.jpg

I've been quite pleased with the way this is turning out, as this is my first attempt at painting anything ever (I've dabbled in drawing years ago). The intent with the armor is to make the silver trim look metallic, but right now the contrast looks a little wonky, so if anyone has suggestions for the armor, I'm willing to listen :). Also, the light is suppose to be coming from sort of above and to the left, so any tips on the shading of the skin will be appreciated :).

Comments

• Everdark
    Everdark
    SHINenzo approves of this thread.

Looks awesome so far, dude. _Especially_ for that fact that it's your first time digitally painting anything. Keep it up. I can't wait to see the finished piece!
  • RaseCidraen
    RaseCidraen
    Gaaran, you're insane with Photoshop, my friend. You're first in line if, whenever I consider conquering the world, I need good photoshop work. Would you care for a large carribean island? The USA? I'm open to negotiations.

That's quite spectacular. Are you doing each of the elements in separate layers? I think that might be an easy way to get the contrast to look right: it probably involves more work though. I very much like the color red on the armor! Darn it, now I wish I had gotten my fiancee a WACOM tablet for Xmas..
  • FrankSirmarco
    FrankSirmarco
    I want to live in the world inhabited by Dusk's female fantasy characters - there isn't an A-cup in sight...