Multiple GMs

Figment
Figment
edited December 2007 in Feature Requests

Comments

• Figment
    Figment
    Something I'd like to see from Obsidian Portal would be the ability to have multiple GMs and even assistant GMs. Some games (such as those run on forums, MU*s, et cetera) have several GMs and assistants. Live action games similarly have GMs and assistant GMs.

GMs would have GM Wiki posting priviledges, NPC and Item posting privledges, et cetera. Just as in the right hand side each campaign landing page has the GM and the various PCs, a campaign with multiple GMs would list all of the GMs before listing the various PCs. This would seem the easiest of the two requests to implement, but I could be very, very wrong (as I am not a programmer).

Assistant GMs would have the ability to view everything a GM can view, but would not have editing or posting privledges. Assistant GMs do not have input in the campaign creation and development, but need to know the ins and outs of the campaign to properly adjucate the game.

These two features would go a take this site to a new level of awesomeness. Thanks for everything done already!
  • photoneater
    photoneater
    Well, to be fair, aside from GM Wiki privileges, any member of a campaign can do what you have asked. Any member of a campaign can post items, NPCs, and the like- and as it stands, even non-GM members have editing and posting privileges to any part of the campaign site they can see (except for, I believe, items, which can only be edited by the creator of the item- just like with a PC).

Personally, while I can see the merits of having multiple GM accounts, I think that having sub-GM accounts that have partial GM powers would be a bit superfluous. Furthermore, based on the way GM status works, having multiples could be a bit confusing.
  • Figment
    Figment
    _Well, to be fair, aside from GM Wiki privileges, any member of a campaign can do what you have asked._

That's precisely what I'm asking for.