Wanted: DMing advice

Fersboo
edited June 2009 in General Discussion

Comments

• Fersboo
    Hello Everybody!

I am a bit rusty with DMing as I haven't run a campaign in close to 15 years. I've just purchased Spycraft 2e and want to gather a gaming group and start running a game. My first plan of action is to get familiar with the material/game mechanics, however as with the Underpants Gnomes, I'm not sure of the second phase of the operation.

Step 1: Select material and achieve familarization.

Step 2: ?

Step 3: I and my gaming group have fun!

Any advice would be appreciated.

Additionally, I am planning on incorporating elements of the following movies/tv shows and would like some other plot devices/settings that I may have missed.

Ronin
    Mission Impossible
    Burn Notice
    A Team
    NCIS
    Law and Order
    Outpost (Near Future)
    Heat
  • RaseCidraen
    RaseCidraen
    Hey Fersboo!

I'm no expert, but I guess, Step 2 is planning. I don't like to plan too far ahead, but I like having a bit of an idea where I'm going. You can either go balls to the wall and throw a ton of planning together, but you run the risk of the players ignoring all of your hard thought out plot hooks and just starting up a farm. (I hate that this actually happened to me once...one of the first few times I was DMing, too. That was discouraging.) Personally, I take the Michael Weston Approach: I know where I want the PCs to end up, roughly (say, an adventure conclusion, or even a story arc), and I know what kind of people they'll be interacting with (Sam/Fiona/The Client, etc), and have some fleshed out innocent bystanders, and some not-so innocent ones, but I try and keep my plan flexible to account for player whims. I've had to scrap many an adventure due to a missed plot hook, or a change in campaign direction. The problem with not planning at all is you can get completely swamped, and it's easy to run out of ideas in the middle of a session.