New to OP

Comments

• Matt123
    Hi, I am new to GMing in this kind of format. I am wondering if people can give me some tips for using this great tool. First questions that pop to mind are:

1) How do people handle conversations?

2) How do people handle combat?

As in, what tool do people use for these things (e.g. a wiki page, or the forum...)? What works or has worked best?

Thanks very much.

--Matt
  • FemmeLegion
    FemmeLegion
    I can't resist...

Welcome, Matt!

Anyway, for my part, the campaign wiki is an online archive of a face-to-face session. So conversations and results of combat go in the Adventure Log.

"The Vale":http://www.obsidianportal.com/campaign/424 has been rife with private conversations, because one of the PCs (Seraph) has an Oracle that visits him in his dreams. So what's usually happened there is that a conversation was played out over email, and then all the emails were strung together and edited for flow, then posted as their own entry in the Adventure Log.
  • Mowgli
    Mowgli
    Hi, Matt!

I'm running my first game using OP. I've found the thread configuration at ENWorld more conducive to actual online gaming, so "sessions" are taking place on ENWorld in their In Character and Out Of Character threads, but everything else is taken care of here. Actually, even a lot of the Out of Character stuff is on here as well.

Probably the best way to get a feel for which tools work best for which purpose is to look around at some other campaigns, then jump in and experiment!
  • Figment
    Figment