Site layout issues w/Firefox

organicveggie
organicveggie
edited April 2009 in Bug Reports

Comments

• organicveggie
    organicveggie
    I'm seeing a weird rendering issue with Firefox 3.0.6 on Ubuntu 8.10. The sidebar that should sit on the right-hand side is not flush with the right-edge and the top banner overlaps it. In some extreme cases, this causes the main content to get pushed way down the page.

Here are some example screenshots:

!http://www.bealetech.com/obsidian-render-bug-firefox.jpg!

!http://www.bealetech.com/obsidian-render-bug2.jpg!

And here's an example of it getting pushed down:

!http://www.bealetech.com/obsidian-render-bug3.jpg!
  • ryan
    ryan
    Man you are pointing out all kinds of bugs..

Weird that FireFox renders so differently on Ubuntu. I'll have to fire up my Ubuntu box and check it out ..

Thanks,
    Ryan
  • organicveggie
    organicveggie
    Heh. :) Sorry 'bout the bug reports.

I'm actually a software developer at my day job... but I seem to have a knack for breaking things. *grin*

I'll try to poke around a bit and see if I can see anything obvious that might cause the layout problems. I can't think of why Firefox on Ubuntu would be any different though. *sigh*

-Sean
  • organicveggie
    organicveggie
    It's definitely related to the spacing of the top header bar and the positioning of the _search form_. The search form is set to _float right_, but doesn't fit on the header line in my browser for some reason. As a result, it gets pushed down one section, which has the cascading effect of preventing the sidebar from being flush with the right hand edge.

I found that by increasing the width of the *#wrapper* element to from 990px to 1018px, I can get everything to fit horizontally in the header block. So I went through and added up all the expected widths of the elements inside the _#header_ :

bq. *element* | *width*
    logo | 194px
    campaigns | 110px
    characters | 120px
    items | 89px
    map | 78px