Hi, I'm new around here (yeah origional title eh?)

Tattoo_Bob
Tattoo_Bob
edited January 2009 in Player Lounge

Comments

• Tattoo_Bob
    Tattoo_Bob
    Hey I'm Jelmer, but I guess you can call me Bob if you like.
    So yeah Im new and intrested but here's the thing; I don't have any gaming experience.

Roleplaying seems great but I'm not sure how to start, especially since I don't know how things work and my character(s) and writing will most likely not be very good.

Right now any help would be very much apriciated and if anyone is going to start something for total newbies...well, I might just be intrested :P
  • redstar
    redstar
    Hi Jelmer,

Welcome to the OP. It's great seeing new faces around here, especially ones who are new to role playing in general! I remember when I first started gaming, i was also a bit confused about how it all worked to. What really helped me was meeting up with a group of folks who had gamed for years, and joining in on a few games with them. If you have the chance to do so, I would definitely go that route. If not, I would look into Dungeons and Dragons 4e. I don't have much experience with other games, but I've heard 4e is a great beginners game.

I wouldn't worry so much about the rules when it comes to thinking about characters and adventures (if you are planning on DMing). Having little experience in the rules will let you imagine things first, then think of the rules later, something that more experienced DMs sometimes have trouble with :)
  • FemmeLegion
    FemmeLegion
    Fresh meat! Um, I mean, hi there! ;)