Character creation questionnaires

Conan_Lybarian
Conan_Lybarian

So, when I start a new campaign, I always like to come up with ten or so capaign specific questions that I want the players to think about to use in creating their characters and backstories. I feel like it helps ground their characters in the world and story and gives them and myself a stepping stone into keeping them involved both in the plot as PCs and invested as players. What kinds of questions do you like to ask your players when starting a campaign? Is it setting specific? Do you have a form survey you like to send out?

Comments

• thaen
    thaen

@Jynx001 posted this quote from Robin D. Laws - GUMSHOE and Drama System designer: "A character sheet is a list of stuff they (Players) want to see happen."

So maybe just ask what ability they are most looking forward to using, and then craft the story so that comes up in the plot?

I've never tried this approach before, so I'm curious to see what you've tried in the past that's been successful...and also what seemed like it didn't help anything?
    Post edited by thaen on

Obsidian Portal Developer

• Jynx001
    Jynx001

In campaigns focused on adventure or investigation, especially ones where characters have chosen that sort of lifestyle as their occupation, I like to find out the specific turning point that led them into that life. This could apply to survival games and other scenarios, too - I call it the Crux.

Some games set things up so we can see that happening in the first game session, but if these are already established adventurers/investigators/survivors/etc., knowing that element can help the GM craft scenarios that play to that motivation.