Is There any Hope for Feature Improvements, or is this Campaign Portal Now Just in Maintenance Mode?

kronovan
kronovan

I'm new to Obsidian Portal as an Ascendant member and have to be honest that I often ask myself why I continue doing so. I do like some of the features, but after using it for about 3 months I and my players still find the UI awkward. My biggest beef though is the size and format restrictions on maps. I'm a big fan of campaign mapping and have gotten quite skilled with tools like Campaign Cartographer and Dundjinni. My maps that look very attractive when PDF published or printed out though, look like crap when dpi reduced and resized to fit through the pathetically tight 5MB upload window of OP.

When I subscribed I wasn't aware of all the negligence and failing service quality that happened about a year ago - honestly wouldn't have sub'd if I had. From my browsing of the forums, it seems that some subcribers are content with this service running in maintenance mode, just as long as it's stable. I however want to see it advance to be more on par with what's being offered by other campaign portals on the Internet.

I personally have experience with business web portals, both from a development and deployment perspective and know that portals can be tricky to design, run and maintain. So I can appreciate the required effort. That said, I still have the impression that this site is running with some feature restrictions that are more reflective of an earlier era when data bandwidth and storage costs were far steeper.

I'd appreciate some honest feedback from anyone in the know, if there's any hope that such restriction might be alleviated in the future, or is it more likely this site will just continue on in maintenance mode?

Comments

• Kallak
    Kallak

Hi @kronovan, you raise a few points here, so let me try to go one by one.