2 laptops, a beer, and how OP saved my monthly game session.

stumblewyk
stumblewyk
edited September 2008 in General Discussion

Comments

• stumblewyk
    stumblewyk
    Hiya.

I'm fairly new to OP, and have only recently started getting my campaign wikified (http://www.obsidianportal.com/campaign/pelosia). I've been spending many an evening copying over archival content from an old website I managed for my players, and entering content into the wiki and the NPC Tracker.

Well, last week, in anticipation of my monthly Friday night game, I decided I was going to DM from OP. I entered my adventure into the campaign log, GM'ified it, and hauled the laptop off to game night.

As we were sitting around the table, and beers were being distributed, I set mine down next to my computer and begin the previous session's recap. My wife, sitting directly to my right opened up my miniature case (read: tacklebox) and knocked my beer over with the case's lid. As the precious Nectar of the Gods spilled out upon my keyboard I leapt up, grabbed a roll of paper towels, and started desperately drying off the laptop as I frantically powered it down.

Ordinarily, I'd have been panicked. "I've lost my adventure! GASP!" Ah, but one of my players said "You got that adventure online?"

"I do."

"Use my laptop." HUZZAH.

Fired his computer up, hit up OP, and logged in. There's my adventure. BOOMSLAM.

Thank you, Obsidian Portal. :)
  • RobJustice
    RobJustice
    But did your laptop survive the beer assault?!
  • stumblewyk
    stumblewyk
    Unfortunately, it did not. (And it was a work computer, too boot, or else I'd have likely tried to save it myself.)

I gave it to the IT guy on Monday, and he took the harddrive out, and plopped it into another laptop laying around with the exact same hardware specs, so I've got my data back at least. :)
  • RobJustice
    RobJustice
    At least you got your shit back.

OP should setup a "Testimonials Page" for stuff like this. Thats a good story. :D