Hidden Expandable Text

False_Epiphany
False_Epiphany
edited May 2017 in Campaign Portal Building

I'm a total newbie to all things CSS, and want to create sections on my wiki that can expand or collapse with a click. I found this code...

<p>Here's a list</p>

<div>

<a href="#" class="hide1">hide</a>

<a href="#" class="show1">show</a>

<ol class="list1">

<li>item 1</li>

<li>item 2</li>

<li>item 3</li>

</ol>

</div>

<p>How about that?</p>

.show1 {display: none; }

.hide1:focus + .show1 {display: inline; }

.hide1:focus { display: none; }

.hide1:focus ~ .list1 { display:none; }

@media print { .hide1, .show1 { display: none; } }

...and it's worked great. There are two more things I want it to do with it:

1. Make the text hidden by default so I have to click "show" to reveal it. As-is, the text is already visible, and I have to click "hide" to make it invisible.

2. Remove the line that by the visibile text that says "1."

Any idea how I might finagle this? Thanks!

Post edited by False_Epiphany on

Blood & Bourbon, 2017 Campaign of the Year

Comments

• cgregory
    cgregory

That code looks familiar. Using the least amount of changes you'd basically do the following

make .list1 not be displayed, and set the list-style type to none to get rid of the 1. whether you want to set the margin and padding back to 0 is up to you.

then when hide1 has the focus display list 1

now this will mean show1 is really causing things to be hidden and hide1 is causing things to be shown, but you can rename the classes as you wish afterwards.

.list1 {

display: none;

list-style-type: none;

margin: 0;

padding: 0;

}

.show1 {display: none; }

.hide1:focus + .show1 {display: inline; }

.hide1:focus { display: none; }

.hide1:focus ~ .list1 { display:inline; }

@media print { .hide1, .show1 { display: none; } }

Here is an example of it

https://dead-men-tell-no-tales.obsidianportal.com/wikis/testpopup

edit