Formatting Videos?

Timephilosopher
Timephilosopher

I was wondering if anyone had put together a series of videos explaining how (with video) to change the formatting for the website? For whatever reason, I find customizing the formatting in Obsidian Portal incredibly confusing. I have some knowledge of CSS and HTML, but I am by no means a master.

I'm accustomed to working in fidgety forum-based sites for my games (various roleplay sites, or things like gaiaonline). I've used these no so that we can do online roleplaying, but so that we can track our pen-and-paper games. So, obviously, I thought that OP would be a great place to move to.

I'm constantly annoyed by how fragile the OP layout is. I don't, necessarily, want to edit the deeper HTML code for the site, I just want to be able to change the way a viewer interacts with a page on a superficial level. Between having to look up specific CSS coding, and trying to understand how the base site works, I'm unreasonably frustrated.

At the uncomplicated end of things: why does simple formatting (such as adding "_" to the beginning and end of a sentence), _sometimes_ make things italic, and sometimes not? Why does, in the editor, it show up as italic, and in the "published" page show up with the "_" visible and the italics missing? I can only conclude that it's user-error.

I'm entirely willing to admit that I'm probably misunderstanding something. I'm willing to learn, but I might need some hand-holding. Hence, searching for video explanations.

Some things I've tried to do and failed at miserably:

Insert videos at a smaller size.

Insert images which text wraps around (I've had... varying degrees of success with this).

TABLES (no, seriously, for whatever reason they're incredibly difficult to create/edit/maintain)

Create a "City Gallery."

Sometimes when I put links into pages it doesn't create a link? I've had to add the link multiple times to get it to work. Not sure why that is.