Using a table with ever expanding data

Krothos
Krothos

In my current campaign Shattered Star, I update the Wiki weekly to including new creatures/items that the characters encountered in the previous gaming session. This has resulting in a long column of links on the main Wiki page. So, I started playing with tables and been some what successful with them. But I can't figure out how to make a table that will allow me to easily add new items without having to "reinvent the wheel" if I want to keep my Wiki links alphabetical.

Is there a method that will auto adjust a table with the specified data at 3 columns with unlimited rows, allowing me to freely adding new data so that it "reformats" the table upon saving?

I hope this makes sense....  :)

Comments

• Krothos
    Krothos

In case you want to look at what I have currently....

https://shattered-star-15.obsidianportal.com/wikis/main-page

• alex_redeye
    alex_redeye

Take a look at what I do with the Wiki on my DA Campaign.  It looks like you might be able to benefit from a similar format.

-Red

Campaigns: Dragon Age: Requiem

• cgregory
    cgregory

In order for a table to be sortable you need to use javascript.

Are  you talking about the table for Onos Pathfinder Journal?  Or are you talking about changing up you links to be in a table?

If you are thinking about putting your links in a table, I'd suggest putting them in a list instead. Then styling that list like you would a calendar (but a 3 day week calendar rather than 7 days)

For example if you played around with the code here

http://www.w3schools.com/howto/howto_css_calendar.asp

You could make the calendar "days" be you links then just have them wrap around as needed (basically you just need to change the width from 13.6% to 33% to change from 7 columns to 3 colums)

They are among us!

XCom: Defiance - Campaign of the Month November 2016

• Krothos
    Krothos