DST Newb. Halp!

xenzirril
xenzirril
edited December 2015 in DST Development
Spent the last day combing the discussions and KB and even in the Devkit, I can't seem to find the answer I'm looking for worded in a way that makes is plain to me. My question is this:

Where does the HMTL for an existing DST go? What about the associated CSS? And while we are at it, where do I put the JS?

It is not obvious to me in any of the very well documented files, guides or forums. I don't understand what I'm missing.

So, if someone could please endulge a genuinely interested person where I seem to be making this newb mistake?

Does it go in the New Character page? Is there a spot in the Advanced Settings? All? Neither?

If this is all documented somewhere, I was not able to find it. Pointers to existing links are completely welcome. I'll even except Direct message replies. I've got a bunch of interested people that currently do not use OP that I'm sure I can bring in if I can get this working.

Thanks in advance for any guidance!

John Calderon aka Xenzirril

Comments

  • Kallak
    Kallak
    Posts: 487
    Are you talking about where in the "DST Listing":https://www.obsidianportal.com/dynamic_sheet_templates or where in the devkit files?

    All the best,
    - Kallak

    Inner Council Member
    CotM Selection Committee
    Writer/Editor - Words In The Dark
    Obsidian Portal Community and Content Manager
    GameMaster - Crucible of the Blacksoul (CotM for Jan. 2013)

  • xenzirril
    xenzirril
    Posts: 5 edited December 2015
    Maybe that is my problem. I want to use this existing DST:

    "https://www.obsidianportal.com/dynamic_sheet_templates/208":https://www.obsidianportal.com/dynamic_sheet_templates/208

    I mean, I want to check it out. See if its close to what I'm after. But for now, lets just assume I'm going to use it as is.

    How do I implement it into my own campaign site?

    All the questions about making my own DST aside, I just want to see a working sheet. Can I add someone elses DST to my own site?

    If so, where do I add each element to get that going? e.g. "Put the HTML here." "Put the CSS here." etc.

    Or do I just not understand the concept correctly?

    I hope that helps further explain what I've missed.
    Post edited by xenzirril on
  • ChainsawXIV
    ChainsawXIV
    Posts: 525
    To use an existing DST, you don't need to work with any code. In your campaign settings, set your campaign to the appropriate system. Having done that, when you edit a character page there will be a drop down menu at the top with options for any templates people have created which support that game system.

    Note, however, that the specific sheet template you linked above will not appear in your list, because it has never been submitted for approval - presumably because it has not been completed by its author. Looks like several people have started work on a 5E sheet, but only one has actually been submitted, so that's the only choice right now.
  • xenzirril
    xenzirril
    Posts: 5
    Chainsaw! Thank you for your feedback. . .

    I'm beginning to wonder if I did not setup the Campaign Page correctly, then.

    Here are some screenshots of what I have for settings and what I get when I open a New Blank Character:

    !https://quantumxen.files.wordpress.com/2015/12/settings2.png(Campaign Settings)!
    !https://quantumxen.files.wordpress.com/2015/12/newchar2.png(New Character Form)!

    Did I setup incorrectly? Do I need to change something?

    I've been a member since 2009 (though only newly Ascendant) and I've never seen any drop down on the New Character form.

    Thanks for your continued help!

    John
  • xenzirril
    xenzirril
    Posts: 5
    Chainsaw -

    OK, I went into one of my other campaigns (Setup for D&D 3.5) and now I see what you meant:

    !https://quantumxen.files.wordpress.com/2015/12/ghnewchar.png(New Character from different Campaign)!

    So is something wrong with how I declared the Game System type when I created this new Campaign?

    In testing this theory, I have tried to change or reset my Game System, but I don't seem to be able to.

    So then, I started a brand new, blank Campaign to see if I could declare the proper Game System, but the field is not a drop down. Instead its just a Text field.

    So, either something is not right for my account OR I have to know the EXACT string to put into the Game System field at Setup in order for this to work.

    Am I off base?

    Just trying to figure out how this has not been a thing that I automatically saw from Setup.

    Thanks again.

    John
  • xenzirril
    xenzirril
    Posts: 5
    Bloddy hell. Never mind. I got it to work.

    I did not realize the grey color of the Game System field was still an editable field. I'm used to 'greyed over' to mean fixed and unchangeable.

    So, I changed the field from '5th Edition D&D' to 'D&D 5E' and now the Dynamic Style Sheet option is available on ALL my characters and New Character form.

    I told you I was having newb problems.

    Thank you guys for all your hard work and patience. Now I know where to come to work things out!

    John

    P.S. I don't suppose there is any reason for the Game System field to NOT be a drop down to avoid this kind of mistake? With an option for a 'Custom' field in case that is desired? Just a thought. Thanks again!
  • ChainsawXIV
    ChainsawXIV
    Posts: 525
    Heh, it used to be a drop down, but there are a butt load of game systems so it was kind of unwieldy. I expect that's why they changed it. Usually though it will suggest options from the supported list as you type - if that's not working now for you, you should definitely report it as a bug.

    In any case, yeah, it's definitely a bit less intuitive now, but glad you figured it out!
Sign In or Register to comment.