Saving / Reusing a Wiki

MickyLevi
MickyLevi
edited March 2011 in Campaign Portal Building
I've been putting in a lot of work into the wiki for my current scenario :)

But I dont want that to feel wasted... Ideally what I'd like is some way to export my whole wiki and import it into a new campaign - not using the same wiki, because its likely that I'd have to update it as well.

Any ideas or suggestions?

Comments

• DarkMagus
    DarkMagus
    There is a campaign backup that you can download. I've never done this before so I'm not sure about the format. I'm not sure how you'd go about importing it into a new wiki though... This is a good question. I'm going to be watching this thread to see the results.

Good luck!

"DarkMagus":http://www.obsidianportal.com/profile/DarkMagus
  • MickyLevi
    MickyLevi
    I've had a try of the campaign backup...

...Not brilliant, and I dont really see how you can use it in any practical way.

Essentially it just dumps everything into a single xml document. You'd still have to build a wiki, characters, adventure log, items, etc from scratch, but would just copy-paste each page from this xml i suppose.
  • FemmeLegion
    FemmeLegion
    I don't have an answer, so here's a question:

What, to you, is the difference between "cloning" this wiki into another wiki, and re-using the current one?

You've mentioned needing to update, but you'd still need to do that if you imported old data into a new wiki. What about your current wiki makes you want to leave it alone going forward?
  • PeterAdkison
    PeterAdkison
    Where is this "campaign backup" feature on the site? I'm having trouble locating it.

DarkMagus, you referred to it as a download, but I can't find a downloads section.

Help!

Peter
  • DarkMagus
    DarkMagus
    Peter,