Revising my wiki

gnunn
gnunn
edited February 2011 in General Discussion
This past weekend I started playing around with the look of the "Westerlands Wiki":http://www.obsidianportal.com/campaign/the-westerlands/wikis/main-page, which is something I should have done a while ago. I was finally driven to get my rear in gear after poking around "Arsheesh's sites":http://www.obsidianportal.com/campaign/age-of-legends/wikis/main-page, which I can confidently say are some of the most beautifully presented wikis on OP.

In a fit of envious inspiration, I started tinkering with button images, fonts and graphics. I revamped my main page as a test, though I'm not sure I'm satisfied with the direction its going. I like the clean look of the body layout and text. I also like the font I found for my revamped sidebar. However, I'm not sold on the look of the sidebar. I feel like the sidebar background looks a little too tablet-y.

I'm also having trouble with the inline-block attribute for lining up the sidebar and the content. I've always found this particular attribute to be a bit temperamental. For example, while the sidebar and text line up properly in all browsers on my computer at work and at home, when I view it on my GF's computer, the format breaks and the body text appears directly below the sidebar.

I encountered similar breakage just now when trying to add a border to the body content of the main page. When I added a 2px gray border, it caused the fields to stack, even if I reduced the width of the content area by 5px (i.e. more than any added width from the border) To make matters more confusing, everything appeared normal in OP's preview window, but broke when I saved it and viewed the page.

Anyone have tips for making inline block more reliable?

Comments

• gnunn
    gnunn
    Here's the code

This is where the content goes
  • gnunn
    gnunn
    Stupid forums killed my pretty html staggering :(