Embedding a Custom Map from maps.google.com?

JonathonVolkmer
JonathonVolkmer
edited July 2010 in Campaign Portal Building
Is it possible to do this either in the Maps section, or on a wiki page? I couldn't see any way to do so in the maps section - it just wants an image uploaded from my computer, which may be my final resort if I can't use what I've already made. In the wiki, the normal html tags for embedding the map didn't work for me, but I'm no pro - it was just a copy and paste job from what they gave me. Anyone know how to do this?

Thanks in advance,
Jonathon

"Beyond the Pale":http://www.obsidianportal.com/campaigns/beyond-the-pale

Comments

• AdamDray
    AdamDray
    On a wiki page, just use an HTML img tag:
  • AdamDray
    AdamDray
    Upon closer reading, I realized you said this didn't work. But it should, because I do it with images hosted on my own server all the time. But I think you're doing something different than just trying to link to an image. Or else Google Maps doesn't allow external linking to their images, which is likely.

If you want just the image of the Google map, you can Shift-PrintScreen and paste it into MS Paint or some other drawing program and save it as a JPEG or PNG file, and then upload that to OP.

If you want their scrollable map /widget/, that's another story. I doubt that Textile will allow the script code that Google Maps inserts into their widget template.
  • Curufea
    Curufea
    Doesn't OP already use the Google widget for its map area?
  • AdamDray
    AdamDray
    I think he's trying to embed an actual Google map, not one of his own maps.
  • Praesi
    Praesi
    This would be an incredible feature!
    We're planning a V:tm campaign located in Marseilles.
    To have a 'real' Google map in the map section would be absolutely gorgeous!
  • Praesi
    Praesi
    Maybe of interest for somebody...