looking for help on using Obsidian Portal with A VTT

CraigSteinhoff
CraigSteinhoff

So I use both Obsidian Portal and Roll20. But I feel like I duplicate a lot of effort...creating NCP in both places, updating documentation in both places, maps in both places. Does any one have an easy way to make the two work together?

I posted on the Roll20 site and I get the whole we "we cannot allow outside content in there platform due to copyright and IP" issue. I am not a lawyer so I guess I have to believe them. But does anyone have any tips or tricks on making this easier...

Roll20 is a great table top for the game....Obsidian Portal is a great site of campaign documentation and history. So I would love to use both together if possible :)

Comments

• thaen
    thaen

I haven't really played with Roll20 much at all, so I don't know enough to say how to use the two together.  When you create NPCs or documentation on Roll20...are you able to use urls to your OP stuff?  Can you put HTML in there at all?

Obsidian Portal Developer

• CraigSteinhoff
    CraigSteinhoff

I can link out to NPC which I do now, every time you click something you get popup box about "going to external site" and every link opens in a new window so you end up with a ton of new windows, It is not horrible but I was hoping there might be a way to display the information directly in one of the Roll20 Handouts with out copying it.

Roll20 does not allow the display of content in there dialog boxes which is the problem. But maybe there is a way to authenticate roll20 and Obsidian Portal so the information could be shared between the two? 

I was also wondering if people had tips or tricks on using the two together more then just using links

• thaen
    thaen

If anyone has tips or tricks for using the two together, feel free to share them!