YouTube Broken Again

Comments

• abu_is_evil
    abu_is_evil

Why am I not surprised...

Just trying to help out.

• Johnprime
    Johnprime

I think I'm going to have to come up with an image placeholder, then link to my Youtube teaser video and just redirect my OP site visitors there.

Johnprime

Deadwood Deacon Banner

Where the west is really wild!

The Valley of Life Banner

The Valley of Life

• cgregory
    cgregory

Speaking as a developer myself, these devs really need to do some quality assurance testing before implementing changes.

Considering that the most common feature to break is the oembed function this should be one the things that needs to be tested in the test environment before implementation in production. If they don't have a test environment, then they should be testing this after any implementation and have a plan to rollback any implementation that causes issues.

They are among us!

XCom: Defiance - Campaign of the Month November 2016

• Johnprime
    Johnprime

I'm right there with you cgregory!

Johnprime

Deadwood Deacon Banner

The Valley of Life

• jasonvey
    jasonvey

Agreed, 100%. It's infuriating for one of the basic features of a service many of us pay to use to constantly go down for a month or more at a time. 

• cgregory
    cgregory

I got a reply from Alan, from Customer Support, regarding this issue, basically saying that the dev is saying that youtube's api changed and that is why it isn't working. I've checked and yes YouTube did have a scheduled API change on Feb 10, 2017.  However, the first reported instance of the issue occurred on Feb 6th.

I disagree with their dev's assessment for another main reason. If it was just due to an API change from youtube then only youtube should have stopped working. As it is, all types of embedding have stopped working including pdf files hosted on mediacloud (where OP's media library sits), and sound files hosted on soundcloud. So he must have changed something as well.